Pros and cons of different materials?

Forum rules
NO SPAM

by LucyFord » Sat Aug 06, 2011 4:15 am

I've only ever worn steel and acrylic, and I've found some gorgeous bone and hematite tunnels and glass pinchers.

What other jewelry materials have y'all worn? What do you think of them?
Ka-chow.
LucyFord

by LucyFord » Sat Aug 06, 2011 5:57 am

Oh, and has anyone worn polymer clay jewelry? I'm curious about it.
Ka-chow.
LucyFord

by corazon_de_oro » Sat Aug 06, 2011 1:45 pm

The best materials for your ears are glass, titanium, and surgical steel. Wood, bone, horn, silcione, and acrylic are fine short-term but shouldn't be worn long-term. And from what I've heard, polymer clay is really bad for your ears but I have no experience with it.
I'm Lindsay.
I have 1/2" lobes and 11 piercings: left helix x2, both conches, both nostrils, septum, navel, and VCH.
My lobes are small but I know a lot about stretching and how to do it safely, so message me if you have any questions!
corazon_de_oro

by stashapistachio » Sun Aug 07, 2011 10:22 pm

Bone shouldn't be worn in mucous membranes (septums) and acrylic shouldn't be worn long term.
Organics & silicone are only for HEALED stretches as they're really really porous. Wood, bone & horn need to be oiled regularly, and you should keep them away from water. Avoid soaking stone too. But organics can minimise ear cheese, wood is super light and silicone is flexible and comfy.

Hemtite is heavy, and magnetic. But I like it (only for healed though!). Some glass contains lead, but not enough to worry about, theres usually more in the water.

And polymer clay, although isn't full of carcegens anymore, is very porous and isn't designed to be skin safe (not as body jewellery for sure). A lot of the dyes, glazes and varnishes people use are really dodgy too. Maybe if you wore through eyelets, but still; I'd be all 'meh'. Plus I think they look rather cheap and badly made irl. Acrylic is MUCH safer and nicer imo, and thats rubbish XD