Acrylic: yay or nay?

Forum rules
NO SPAM

by katesonamission » Tue Sep 07, 2010 3:38 am

Ok so, i've stretched in about a month and a half from an 18G to a 10G acrylic taper. I have not skipped any sizes (went 18>16>12>10) or had any trouble at all (no bleeding, pain, only very minor discomfort the first day or two of a new stretch). I know that i've been stretching too fast, and definitely plan to slow it down a lot, but i'm just worried about using acrylic tapers and plugs. The only place around me that sells stretching gear is a small hot topic, and the only available tapers and smaller plugs they have are acrylic. I've purchased my next size (8G acrylic tapers and micro-plugs) but am wondering whether i should buy some steel or other material ones instead? Im a total noob to stretching, and want to take care of my ears. Help?
katesonamission

by Nic » Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:24 am

hello =D
. U havent been stretching to fast, cuz everyones ears are different an heal at different rates. As long as u listen to ur body and dont force ur stretching u will be fine. Acrylic is fine for short term wear such as a few weeks til u stretch to a new size. Steel is ideal to use but can be expensive. I used acrylics at lower sizes an now at my goal size i use acrylic. U must make sure to clean them alot, because i have had problems where the acrylic paint came off onto my fistulas. U sound like ur on the right road with your stretching. GOod luck an if u have ne questions just message me an il reply right back.
Left Lobe = 1 3/8in.
Right Lobe = 1, 3/8 in.
16g Bridge/Earl
14g/ 16g spider bites both sides
14g Tongue
6g Septum
Upcoming:
16g Angel bites
Retired:
Industrial
Nic

by leighmarie » Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:04 am

Nic wrote:U havent been stretching to fast

Yes, she definitely has. At least six weeks is recommended for a reason. Not allowing the fistula time to heal properly is just weakening it and increasing the chance of tears.
Current:
1.6mm Tongue
1.6mm Navel