should I, or shouldn't I?

Forum rules
NO SPAM

by slow_the_rain » Sun Aug 28, 2011 7:40 pm

Hi!

I'm a college freshman, and I'm actually studying musical theatre, with the hopes of being a stage actor in the future. My ears are not stretched, let alone pierced, but I have always wanted to stretch since I was a very young boy.

I have a couple of questions though. My ideal size would eventually be 3/4". Could I still hide them with flesh colored plugs at that size? I would love to have stretched ears, I just do not want to make a bad decision that could seriously hinder my career. Also, I am currently taking an acting class that requires all black dress, and no make-up or jewelry. Since I do not have my ears pierced presently, if I were to get them pierced, how long would it be before I could switch the jewelry out for retainers (twice a week, for about two hours)? And would I be able to leave plugs and tunnels out at smaller sizes for the same amount of time without having too much shrinkage?

Any advice is much appreciated.
slow_the_rain

by corazon_de_oro » Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:07 pm

Well, retainers and flesh-colored plugs aren't invisible, so somewhere down the line you will deal with people who don't even accept those. On stage, there is usually a lot of lighting directly on you, so people in the first couple rows might notice if you have short hair.

Anyway, the best thing for you to do, if you decide to get them pierced, is find glass or bioplast retainers that are safe for long-term wear. Clear plastic retainers shouldn't be worn in a healing piercing or for long periods of time in a healed one. And you'll want something you can put in and keep in for the healing time of your lobes, because constant jewelry changes will irritate new piercings.